Surprise! I’m back!

I’ve decided to resurrect this blog. I’ve been thinking about how to improve my photography, and concluded that the best way to do that is to show my work. It won’t all be magnificent; there will be flaws and mis-steps. But I’m going to give it my best shot (pun intended).

I will post regularly here – but I’m not sure how regularly. I’m open to feedback and constructive criticism. In fact, I’d greatly appreciate both. My plan – for the moment – is to post one image here, maybe say a bit about it, and post other related images to my Flickr account. You’ll be able to find EXIF information at Flickr, if you’re interested.

So to get things started, here’s an image that I took just after sunrise on 01 January 2017.

2017-jan-01-irvine-beach-1

I had walked down to the harbour and beach area to capture the sunrise. It was a cold, crisp morning with hardly a cloud in the sky. I loved the way that the early sunlight was catching the sand on the beach, and as I composed this shot I spotted these two gulls. For me, they added a nice point of interest.

Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

