Learn to take my time

P1220544

(Click on image for larger version.)

I’m not overly pleased with this photo. It was taken en route to the harbour where I took the photo that I posted yesterday. I knew that the sunrise wasn’t far away, so I rushed these shots.

I didn’t set up my tripod (that’s still not instinctive for me) even though the light was quite low and it was freezing cold. I didn’t think to put on a polarising filter. I didn’t look around for different angles.

I simply stopped, pointed and clicked.

So, what do I like about it? Well, I like the way the soft light reflected in the water and the pink tones on the horizon

Well, I like the way the soft light reflected in the water. I wish I’d slowed the shutter down a bit to see if this could have been more pronounced. I also like the pink tones on the horizon – maybe a bluer sky would have emphasised this. Finally, I like the near alignment of the posts – maybe a different angle would have brought this out more.

What do you like about it?

How could it be improved?

 

Other, related images will be posted in Flickr.

One thought on “Learn to take my time

Leave a Reply

