In praise of cliches

In praise of cliches.

We’ve all seen them – the tired old, unoriginal images where the photographer has made almost no effort to tell a story or find a different perspective.

Well, for many people the snow-capped peaks of Arran probably fall into the category of cliche. But, I don’t think that’s a bad thing. Just because a scene is familiar, doesn’t mean that it has to be dull. So here is my attempt at the snow-capped peaks of Arran.

P1220741

With or without my camera, this view stirs something in me. (It’s also a remarkable scene when the sun sets in summer.) And if you click on the image to enlarge it you can spot the CalMac ferry towards the right edge, which probably shifts this photo to super-cliche status.

Of course, I didn’t just take this shot. I played around with it. The next two are zoomed in versions, which I think convey some of the atmosphere of the island.

P1220790

P1220750

Over the next few entries, I’ll post other versions… whether they are cliched or not.

Leave a Reply

