Mirabell Gardens (the first of many)

Mirabell Gardens (the first of many)

I can’t imagine anyone going to Salzburg and not visiting the Mirabell Gardens. (Let me know if I’m wrong.) They are laid out as formal gardens, but there is a wonderfully relaxed feeling to them.

(Click on image for larger version.)

I realise that this is a strange image to use for the first post about the gardens. I wanted to use my imagination to come up with some less predictable shots.  Future entries will contain more straightforward shots.

This is taken from the classic viewpoint for the cathedral and castle, but I thought that the rose deserved to have the starring role. It’s a simple B&W conversion, with a layer mask to pull through the colour.

(Other, similar images can be found on my Flickr site – if you’re interested.)

Leave a Reply

